Immerse yourself into 800 years of life on Koenigstein hill
Discover the history of Königstein hill from the first mentioning in a document in 1241 until the opening of the museum in 1955, told in a descriptive and entertaining way in more than 30 rooms. This permanent exhibition is the most important and largest exhibition at Königstein Fortress.
Find out how the former border castle of Bohemian kings got into the Wettins' hands through a feud and was converted into a country fortress later. Walk on the paths of ordinary soldiers and their families. Gain insights into the festivities and banquets of high-class rulers. Discover the less well-known periods of fortress history, as an officer’s prison camp and juvenile detention centre.
Catering for the needs of our national and international visitors, all the information is available in German, English, and Czech. The historic milestones are illustrated by more than 330 exhibits, together with additional models, dioramas and installations of figures. More than 30 media stations and an audio guide in nine languages offer additional background information. The permanent exhibition extends on 1,200 square metres at the Gate House and the Strike Defences, high above the fortress entrance on two floors.
Daily from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., from November to March only 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
The exhibition will be closed from 9th till 27th January 2017.
In this period all visitors will pay the reduced entry fee of 6€, children up to 16 years of age are admitted free of charge.
Building: Gate house (No. 7)
Taking pictures without flash is allowed. Strollers must be left in the cloak room.