Matthias Hultsch


On the King’s Stone – 800 Years of Life at Königstein Fortress

Opening hours: April – October: 10 a.m. – 6 p.m. | November - March : 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Location: Gate House | Strike defences | Commander’ s House

Family friendliness: interactive stations, child-friendly texts, free rental of baby carriers and costumes for kids

Accessibility: companion for wheelchair users recommended | access with strollers is not possible

Photography: allowed for private use without flash | photo permission required for commercial use

800 Years of Life at Königstein Fortress

The permanent exhibition extends on 1,200 square metres at the Gate House and the Strike Defences, high above the fortress entrance on two floors. Discover the history of Königstein hill from the first mentioning in a document in 1241 until the opening of the museum in 1955, told in a descriptive and entertaining way in more than 30 rooms.

Find out how the former border castle of Bohemian kings got into the Wettins' hands through a feud and was converted into a country fortress later.

Walk on the paths of ordinary soldiers and their families. Gain insights into the festivities and banquets of high-class rulers. Discover the less well-known periods of fortress history, as an officer’s prison camp and juvenile detention centre.

All the information is available in German, English, and Czech. The historic milestones are illustrated by more than 330 exhibits, together with additional models, dioramas and installations of figures. More than 30 media stations and an audio guide in nine languages offer additional background information.

Exhibition highlights

Facsimile of the Upper Lusatian border charter from 1241

Reconstructed architect's talk with Pietro Ferrabosco from around 1567

Large construction site from 1589, expansion of the castle into a fortress, in diorama scale 1:20

Eight-metre-long model of a carriage train of Augustus the Strong

Giant wine barrel relics from the time of August the Strong, 1725

Restored royal rooms of August the Strong

Real-life replicas of August the Strong, Countess Orzelska and Prussian King Frederick William I

Armament of the Swiss Guards of the Saxon Elector, 18th century and wall painting of two Swiss Guards as door guards

Film documents from the Second World War and the GDR period

Reconstructed commander's flat with ladies' room, c. 1900

Festung Königstein gGmbH
01824 Königstein

Phone: +49 (0)35021 64 607

Opening hours

April - October 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
November - March 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Last admission 1 hour before closing time