Already in 1591, there was a ravelin in front of the Gate House to defend the entrance.
In the first half of the 18th century, Augustus the Strong (1670 - 1733) had it replaced by a new one. The Gate Ravelin has casemates, where the men on guard stayed and cannons stood for defence. It was additionally equipped with a parapet. This is also the post of the gate guard, where every visitor had to register.